Week 21: Farewell Switzerland 🇨🇭

“Travel is not reward for working, its education for living.”

{The Travel Channel}


 

5 months, 145 days, lots of cycling, lots of studying (when necessary), 21 blogs later and that wraps up my 2016 Erasmus experience in the beautiful country of Switzerland! 

As I left the wet and windy Northern Ireland on the 10th February, with practically 3 other strangers, never did I imagine how amazing my time studying in Switzerland would be and the adventures that we would have together allowing us to be the best of friends when we left at the end of June.

As I reflect on the past five months studying and living in another country, I can see how much this has impacted and challenged me culturally, professionally and personally.

Culturally:  

  • I have learned how to adapt to a new culture
  • Overcome language barriers
  • Tasted new foods
  • Understand the lifestyle of Swiss people

Professionally:

  • Gained experience from teaching and observing an IB International school
  • Understood how to adapt teaching styles for children with English as an additional language
  • Observed the benefits of outdoor learning and the ethos of going and finding out for yourself
  • Taught new subjects like Philosophy and seen how educational it is for children to share personal things from their different cultures and backgrounds

Personally:

  • Learned how to make friends with people from all over the world and different to me
  • Appreciated the Swiss mountains and beauty
  • Found a new love for cycling and an active and healthy lifestyle
  • Travelled to over 11 countries throughout Europe
  • Experienced many challenges which have made me a stronger person

Our final week in Switzerland was a busy one as we had just came back from Paris and had two exams to complete (German and Hetrogenity and Integration presentation), as well as a  10 page Philosophy assignment. It was rather a busy few days trying to complete all the final things for the PH but finally we made it to Tuesday and had that summer freedom on June 28th, a whole month later than our usual Stranmillis semester. We celebrated the same evening by going out for dinner, eating ice cream and spending our final night altogether as a four. It was an emotional goodbye the following day as Zoe and I waved the boys off on the train as they headed back home. We still had a few days left in Kreuzlingen to enjoy being lakeside and the lovely summer weather before we headed off on our interrail adventure. We enjoyed spending some time with our Israeli friends Ainat and Roni who allowed us to stay over before heading off to Italy on the 4th of July.

image

As Zoe and I took our final Swiss train away from the Swiss Alps and the place we had grown to call home, we had mixed emotions about leaving this chapter of our lives behind.

imageThe experiences that I had, both challenges and adventures have shaped me into the person I have become. Never did I imagine that I would be able to live away from home for almost 6 months. I am sad to be leaving behind this point in time of my life, but I am also so thankful and greatful to Stranmillis for the ERASMUS experience.

VENI
VIDI
AMAVI

We came. We saw. We loved.

 

REFERENCES:
The Travel Channel (2015), cited by Anthony Bourdain Archives (2015), For the Love of Wonderlust, Solo Pine
Adapted from Julius Caesar’s “Veni, Vidi, Vici” (47BC)

 


Leave a comment